Books AND Movies

I don’t know what is it about books that gives me such an adrenaline rush. Yes, I do know what that means, and I do know that people generally don’t get it from books or something as passive as reading books. You can say, my life is just this much exciting and book-reading itself is such a big deal that gives me a thrill.
But, no, it’s not like that. I’ve done adventure sports (well, I went to Adventure Island and sat on that silly merry-go-round kinda ride in India. You don’t know when the strap holding in your seat Β may turn out to be defective and you are flying in the air, ready to take the death-plunge. I think that’s quite an adventure to last a life-time!) Never mind sports, I’ve many other exciting things in my life. (I can’t remember any but I do have!)Β 
Anyways, coming back to books. Books always have given me a hit, a kick no matter what’s going in my life otherwise. This is one place where I forget what my real life is like and just totally immerse myself into the character. It’s soo sincere a dip that I start feeling, thinking, behaving like the book’s character. A friend once told me “you should always tell me what you’re reading so that I can be prepared in advance on what to expect of you”. πŸ˜€ I think he understood me best there! I was reading Fountainhead at that time and the girl in it was Veronica, who expressed love by hurting her lover, Howard. πŸ˜€
The passion of reading a book is so that it drives me totally oblivious to my worldly requirements, urgencies, my commitments to the worldly things. I don’t care if I’ve a deadline waiting for me at work. I don’t care if my boss comes over my head and sees me reading a novel in office. I don’t care if I’ve to hide a torch in my blanket and read the book, or read it in the outside lamp’s light. If I’m on a book, I’ve to finish it. As soon as I can. Day or Night. Early or late. Today or Tomorrow. Everything seems to stop existing. If you can avoid being judgmental, then even my being a mother ceases to exist.Β 
I’ve never known passion or drive in any other way. In anything else. NO!!! Wait!!!
Yes, I’ve known it with movies . When am watching a movie, I totally forget my surrounding. I don’t care if no one else is laughing. I can laugh out loud on something I find hilarious. I don’t care if heads are turning around me. I forget that Tarun is asking me something about the movie character. I don’t even hear him asking me anything. It’s only when a break comes, that I realize he did say something. He’s got used to it now. Now, he doesn’t even bother asking when the movie is on. Ha!!!Β 


I can’t help it if it isn’t something constructive that is my passion. I can’t help it if the activities I enjoy most are not some successful businesses. This is all I know about passion. This is my most most Β basic instinct. The carnal instinct. I can’t change it. I can’t enhance it.Β 


I love books and I love movies. And, love is too small a word to describe the emotion πŸ™‚ God, please create a world with me and books and movies (and food) and I’ll be the happiest person. Love you, God! Take care!
4 thoughts on “Books AND Movies

  1. This is what is called PASSION
    I share a lot of these, or rather used to share.. you made me remember many of those bookish maiden days, forgetting the clock.. bed, me and books, but then I munched too a lot amidst this, which still remains on me..
    nice read πŸ™‚

  2. I don't see any wrong in Books giving an Adrenaline rush… Have experienced quite a many when I am engrossed in reading something πŸ™‚

    Well do keep sharing what all you are reading, as you know I am always on a look out for books to read πŸ™‚

    Nice post BTW πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks Sandeep. πŸ™‚ As for books, they are totally chick-flicks…not at all your kind. And, when we're talking of books, it reminds me , it has been long since you wrote about the books you've been reading. I can definitely pick one from those. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

