My list of 30….oops! 13

Well, it’s been long since I vowed to create my list of 30 things I would do before I turn 30. But, I didn’t even get to publishing it, forget acting on them.

Ya Ya you can well imagine where this all is going. Seems like another resolution of the year thing, which goes into the dustbin by the end of the month.

But, I hope it’s not that. I sincerely hope this works coz I really wish all of these. So, no more blabbering n off you go!

PS: I’ve been only able to come up with a list of 13 so far. Will add to it as and when I get something on my mind.

  1. Β Do/Get enrolled for Masters
  2. Go touring to some historical or culturally rich placec with Mom
  3. Start learning some dance form.
  4. Create a pipeline.
  5. Go for a foreign trip
  6. Go for a week’s trip alone.
  7. Try a cigarette.
  8. Practice the Geeta regularly.
  9. Give 1% to charity.
  10. Khamadkhaamna
  11. Reduce weight. Add fitness to my daily routine.
  12. No junk for a month.

Writing each one here was a challenge in itself. While writing I know how difficult n unachievable each one of them is, for me. But, that’s what the list is supposed to be for. So, I don’t know how I’ll fructify even one of them. But then, we’re challenging the limits here.

Ya, n if u thinking why it’s only 12 when I said 13…I deleted one of them because am still thinking if that should be a part of the list or not. Censored for now. πŸ™‚

Ciao

-Hope

26 thoughts on “My list of 30….oops! 13

    1. Well, the censored part is not that exciting or crudely saying ‘sansani-khez’ πŸ˜›
      Will talk about it in a post, perhaps. πŸ™‚
      The trips, well, good you noticed coz I didn’t notice that either. It just shows that I soo wish to travel to new places, visit new countries and meet new people of different cultures.
      Khamadkhaamna, as correctly explained by DayDreamer is a Rajasthani festival of sorts. It’s a day in the year when you ask for people’s forgiveness.
      My version of it is to go ahead and reach out to people I’m holding grudges or ego on, and not talking. I don’t want to lose out on my dear friends whom I’ve lost because of ego-issues.
      I want to let that go and stay in touch. Have already started working on it πŸ™‚

  1. All the very best … To be honest, and I am not saying this to flatter you, I know you have the determination to complete it.

    BTW Khamadkhaamna isn’t it related to Rajasthani tradition ? The tradition of asking for forgiveness on a particular day.

    Also din’t get what you mean by create a pipeline ??

    1. Thanks DayDreamer for the boost-up. I’m sure to be breaking your faith in me but anyways, hoping somewhere in my heart that I do keep up to it πŸ™‚
      Creating a pipeline is a concept given by some motivational guru ages ago. Don’t remember his name or the book I read it in. But, the idea is to create another small source of income that you can rely on in case you lose your current, major source of income. Being in service industry, one should always keep a back-up plan in case something unexpected or untoward happens. Do think about it πŸ™‚

      1. My dream is to finally lead a life where I lead a simplistic life doing what I want to do without caring about money in any form :)… but yes agreed for mortal souls in our industry it is good idea to have a parallel income.

      2. It’s not just about money. It’s about also having a life apart from this life. That will be a place where I can let my creativity or innovation or entrepreneurial me have a free reign. For people like you who love their jobs, it’s perhaps not needed, which is good…actually perfect. But, I wish to try my hands in other things also. So, it’ll be that opportunity for me.

      3. I was going to ask about “pipeline” thing.First thing I thought was an ARM pipeline :P.Anyways ,the great person you are talking here is I think Warren buffet.I have a vague memory of Pankaj telling me this concept of Warren buffet.Making a list itself is a formidable task πŸ˜› , and I am surprised how ciggie is on your wish list too πŸ˜› , my secret wish is ( now was since no more a secret ) to blow puffs like movie stars and not just try one , of course I know I should never do that – but the prospect seems so charming πŸ™‚

      4. Hahaha! I think ciggie is common to all coz it symbolizes ultimate rebellion in our times. (Well, you’ve to agree our times are gone :-/)
        Girls these days are more comfortable smoking in open, than they were a few years ago. But, the idea still brings a thrill to my nerves. πŸ˜€

      5. He he , our times as 20 somethings are gone Ma’am , not our times are gone :), our times will never go ..though ofcourse I know what you mean , things are a lot different now .Even today smoking charms me , drinks don’t :P, but ofcourse I am miles away from both of them πŸ™‚

  2. The drinking and smoking argument has been in our psyche for so long now. I have gone through such discussion with my friends on what they think about drinking and smoking. Countless heated discussion and jabs later it still remains unsolved.
    Its just somethings are wired the wrong way since childhood. Probably being from middle class household our association with drinking starts from inebriate relatives in a marriage or a homeless guy passed outside a liquor shop. Earlier Movies didn’t help either with drinking always being related to vamps , villains and devastating mistakes by the hero heroine( I have lately realized how strongly movies affected India’s thinking in 70’s and 80’s).
    I don’t mind either, though I have never smoked a ciggie but am always up for a Hookah. I had some chain smoker as room mate so passive smoking is no big deal.
    Thanks Jana Sir for explaining the Khamadkhaamna.
    And the pipeline concept was also taught by Dale Carnegie I think, in different words though -“Always keep your line of supply open”. He shared a story of a Hollywood actor who even after earning money never resigned from his job as a Railway Guard but took a sabbatical .

    1. U r right Vidur. This is all about peeling off the ideas that have been taught to us in childhood, and our totally wrong in the current world. We need to remove them from our sub-conscious.

  3. waah kitna bhari discussion ho chuka hai πŸ˜› Mera masoom sa sawal..Masters in business or science ?
    Like always I agree with Day dreamer on everything he said. Bani seems pretty intelligent. Who is she πŸ˜‰
    And what is the difference between hookah and ciggie piggy ? I recommend both

  4. Siddhartha : lagta hai tumhare blog per jo comment kiya tha uske shock se bahar aa gaye , tabhi dobara pange le rahe ho πŸ˜› ….but just to set the record straight : Bani Suditi Sehar is all one ; I know its not required – but telling so that you don’t get benefit of doubt next time πŸ™‚ Waise I am trying ki ab yeh confusion khatam ho , or mein ek profile per stick kar jaun .BTW, you are open to read my blog and comment , just in case you are thinking I secretively started that blog .

  5. Swati Ma’am : Masters per kabhi discussion karni ho , to give me a call ,I have a lot of gyaan to share which no one is showing interest in πŸ˜›

    1. Kaisa gyaan? Please do share. Waise to maine khud bhi ispe kaafi thesis kar rakhi hai, lekin, I’m always open to learning something new πŸ™‚ So, please do share. MBA ya MS?

      1. he he , Ma’am to yeh to main individual ko evaluate karke batati hoon πŸ˜‰ , you know , bent of mind.We’ll catch up sometime.Aap bhi apni thesis share katna

      2. Evaluate me. 7-yrs work-ex in vlsi industry. Married. Has a small kid. Wants to pursue a Masters. Open to both M.Tech or MBA. Inclines to MBA but M.Tech seems to be more useful to her stream. Can she do an MBA and use it without changing her stream of work/profile? Will M.Tech actually help her in any way? She wants to go towards research or RnD through that, if can.

Leave a Reply

