Challenge9: Give 1% to charity

Ever since I have become a mother, I’ve found a new sympathy rise in me – sympathy for the underprivileged children. And, after reading Gita, which states that everyone should donate some part of his income to the less-fortunate people, I knew I had to do something for the children.

My biological parents have never been very high on donations or ‘daan’. But, my new-found parents, that’s my in-laws, are very upfront in this regard. They take any and every opportunity to give things away to needy people. They don’t give cash. We prepare rotis and daal from home and then distribute those to people near the temple. I really found happiness in doing that. And, the act brought a lot of peace to me. So, I did that too on Anay’s birthday. But, apart from that, I wanted to do something more.

This year, for Anay’s birthday, I had decided on an amount that I would donate and was looking out for the options I had. I don’t believe in giving money away to NGOs as you never know if they reached the children or not. I wanted to be in direct contact someway. So, I spoke to my mother, who teaches in a govt school. I had visited her school with Anay once and saw some mentally-challenged children there. They live in the asylum nearby.

Today, with the help of my Mom, and with the help of their teacher, I prepared a goodie bag for the 16 girls. I had already asked the teacher on what would be most useful for them. Surprisingly, they didn’t need clothes or shoes or food. The govt grant covered Β that for them. They needed coloring books, bags, and such petty stuff. Things they could enjoy with. 😦

I can’t explain how moved and how happy I feel after giving them the bag. I filled it with all sorts of art n craft stuff that I could find. It is a very small thing for us but the joy, the happiness, the excitement I saw on their faces. The love they showered on me, it was priceless. It was totally priceless.

I hope God gives me more such opportunities in future. May God give them all the love they need.

5 thoughts on “Challenge9: Give 1% to charity

    1. Going by the fact that this was the first act of social service, whatsoever, in my life, I’m just plain happy. Don feel like a ‘great person’ or anything, just happy to see someone happy. You realize how some stranger’s happiness can also bring you so much happiness. We’re not so individualist as we think we are, and humanity is not all lost from our hearts. Am happy to just know that.

      1. Like you said it was your first act, so I know a lot of people who have the intent but fail to get it executed so since you have put action to your thought I really feel its great , thats why the comment πŸ™‚

        Yes I have experienced it too so can understand how happy you must have felt πŸ™‚

  1. Thanks! I can’t tell you how much those words mean to me. You’re right that it is a big thing that I could actually implement it. I never expected myself to be able to strike even a single item off my list. And, I’ve actually finished one. πŸ™‚ Gives me a major boost to try for others.

Leave a Reply

