Posted in Uncategorized

My secret secret wish

I’ve never said it out loud. Maybe I’ve hinted it in my posts some time. Maybe said in some personal talks to Tarun. Did I? I didn’t. Not sure.

But, I really really wish….still wish….despite knowing that it’s practically impossible… but still wish….is to attend a foreign university as a regular student.

Phew! I said it. I actually said the foolish-est thing one could ever say.

Ya, I know that with a 2-yr old child, I should be now thinking and dreaming of his education than mine. I’ve already worked for 7 yrs and I know that doing any further studies would not be very useful for me.

But, I can never forget the experience I had when I visited the San Jose State University in California. It was a Sunday, or some holiday, so I didn’t meet any students. So, no, my wish for studying there is not to become a cool-dude with those foreigners.

It was the culture of studies that stuck me. You can actually spend all the time to discover and work on your own dreams and interest area. You can be as young as 13 or as old as 30. They don’t care. You want to study. You like this subject. Spend your time on only that. No need to study something to get marks. I’m sure the curriculums are there as well and one needs to finish some subjects to get the degree. But, the culture is very different. The modus operandi is very different.

For once in my life, I want studies to be an enjoyment than a burden. And, I somehow feel that it is achievable.

4 thoughts on “My secret secret wish

  1. The best part I see is that age is not a limit for this :)…So even if it takes 20-25 years for your kid to settle , you can still go and fulfil this wish 🙂

    Another I feel is if you guys some day migrate to US for your professional goals then also irrespective of the kid factor you can start pursuing it from there.

    1. Well, age is not a limit but I wonder if I’ll have the capacity in me then to think and write an exam after that long. 😛 For migration, well it’s a long road to that and chances are highly unlikely now, after our Bangalore debacle. But, anyways, hope doesn’t leave hope. 🙂

Leave a Reply

