Posted in Uncategorized

Challenge4: Create a pipeline

I think I’ve found what I want to do. Although it could be very….very…….VERY early in the process but still penning it down to make it more real. To me.

I want to do something in handmade/natural products like Jute/Handmade papers. I have some idea in my mind. But, I need more data. I need to get more facts about the Jute industry, about the investments needed, risks involved and the road-map of around 4-5 yrs. 

I may be talking too naive having no background in Management or Entrepreneurship. But, then, none of our ancestors were MBA diploma-holders and did quite well a job of selling stuff. So, I’m hoping to go the ancient way. 

Any inputs anyone may have on how I can start my search and find some real numbers. I tried the net but it doesn’t have any numbers. At least I’m not getting any with my searches.

Any help would be appreciated. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Challenge4: Create a pipeline

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fabindia … I think you are thinking on this line …. There is a book too on this , may be you can read it …
    The Fabric of Our Lives: The Story of Fabindia, by Radhika Singh.
    “Making India Work”, by William Nanda Bissell. Penguin Books India.

    So are you thinking on the line of
    – a Design house, where you will design the bags, fabrics etc and then factories will create those ?
    – A production house where you will design, produce and market everything ?

    I mean I just want to know whether your interest is in designing those bags yourself or to provide an opportunities to skilled workers to sell their design ?

    1. Ques1: How do u know so much about it? Did u search on it (which means my search keywords were very very wrong :P) OR, you just happen to know coz u r an avid reader (which means am a very cliched reader with no sense of exploring 😦 )

      1. Secondly, I’m not planning to design any product as of now. I don’t even see that in any near future. For now, am looking to pick a franchisee and start selling things. This way I intend to understand the market, get a real idea of the tastes of people, and exactly if the market is big enough to set up an industry. In the long term, I would very much like to get into a jute factory for producing stuff from raw material. So, basically, I’m thoroughly thinking of back-end than the front-end retailing. The retailing will only be for a short period, to get the experience required.

    1. Okay , I read the link and found out where you got such detailed info from 😛 So, u can stop bragging. 😀
      One thing more, can I get the HVD case study from somewhere? Or, they are like IEEE papers…need login etc to get them. Lemme check this out.

      1. Ha ha ha .. I never bragged , you yourself just implied that … I thought you might not read the complete page so let me copy paste the important part 😀

        HBR study seems to be a paid one..so may be you can check with someone who has an hbr subscription or has access to such things.

      2. Ya Ya I know. But, seriously, you really kick-started my project. Thanks a lot for that. I read through that page and also the links associated. Got some real good insight into it. At least a head-start. Let’s see where this goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

