Half-Time Half-Pay

My company is relatively a start-up and very cooperative in providing the women employees the right work-life balance. So, if a woman needs/wishes, she can opt for half-time, half-pay.

I don’t need it because my son is well taken care of by my In-laws. I miss spending more time with him, but it’s not a requirement. Perhaps, I feel like our work-hours have become long because of my depending on Tarun for returning. Also, ever since we started the gym, my time away has increased. I want to balance it.

I am not totally comfortable with this option. And, I do want to do something to improve the work-life balance. I want to spend more time with Anay but I’m not sure what exactly I would do with him in that time. Would I be just idling it all away sleeping? Or, will I waste it talking to MIL or doing house-hold stuff. Or, would I actually be able to come up with things to do with Anay.

I am liking my job a lot. I am liking the challenges coming my way. I want to do it justice. I want to make my mark here. I’ll lose a lot of it if I take this option.

Should I take this bargain? 

I am very uncertain.

Tell me, what do you think I should do? 

Please do respond. Queries, thoughts, comments, suggestions, everything is welcome.

4 thoughts on “Half-Time Half-Pay

    1. Interesting. Actually, I did think of it but never gave it another thought. Maybe I should check with my manager on the feasibility of this option. This could turn out to be a win-win situation. 🙂 Thanks!

      1. I’d have actually said the same thing , to check the feasibility if you can revert after sometime to full-time after giving it a try.
        It’s actually a very tough call.You keep fiddling with all great dilemmas an Indian lady faces in this age and role 😛 . Anyways , I think it depends upon individual and family situation also .
        If you were a nuclear family , I’d have unequivocally suggested “Yes” to go for it, as these are Anay’s formative years, what he learns now shapes him up.He needs family members to teach him the right things in right ways .In your case, it is well-taken care of by your family .Nonetheless, if your were to go for it , there are abundant of blogs online which would give you an insight into creative parenting.For eg this link , http://www.mommy-labs.com obviously things are much different for a boy kid than a girl kid , but while following this blog , I found there are many people out there , homeschooling their kids or who have found a purpose in creative parenting or holistic living , while they work part-time or donot work at all .But that is driven purely by interest .

        The career part is tricky . It again depends upon individual how he perceives his career growth , some people are OK with taking a break / or laid back approach or see people climb the ladder while they grow slowly.Some people are just not.

        The point is – in your case, this decision should be entirely driven by choice , and not by “must” or “Should” ” what if ” etc , , because in latter case, even if you decide so , you won’t be happy /able to stick with it .

  1. I’d have actually said the same thing , to check the feasibility if you can revert after sometime to full-time after giving it a try.
    It’s actually a very tough call.You keep fiddling with all great dilemmas an Indian lady faces in this age and role 😛 . Anyways , I think it depends upon individual and family situation also .
    If you were a nuclear family , I’d have unequivocally suggested “Yes” to go for it, as these are Anay’s formative years, what he learns now shapes him up.He needs family members to teach him the right things in right ways .In your case, it is well-taken care of by your family .Nonetheless, if your were to go for it , there are abundant of blogs online which would give you an insight into creative parenting.For eg this link , http://www.mommy-labs.com obviously things are much different for a boy kid than a girl kid , but while following this blog , I found there are many people out there , homeschooling their kids or who have found a purpose in creative parenting or holistic living , while they work part-time or donot work at all .But that is driven purely by interest .

    The career part is tricky . It again depends upon individual how he perceives his career growth , some people are OK with taking a break / or laid back approach or see people climb the ladder while they grow slowly.Some people are just not.

    The point is – in your case, this decision should be entirely driven by choice , and not by “must” or “Should” ” what if ” etc , , because in latter case, even if you decide so , you won’t be happy /able to stick with it .

Leave a Reply

