Posted in Uncategorized

Adding 19. and 20. to my list of 30

Dear Diary,

I added two more items to my wishlist.

19. To be in the Fortune 50 Top Most Powerful Woman + Respect your body

I would like to explain these a little more. I’ve wanted the 19 for quite some time now. I think the fetish started when Indra Nooyi became a household name. I wasn’t really a teenage girl to get impressed by all the power and fame she was enjoying but somehow she has stuck a cord with me. If there’s one thing I want to die trying, it is to achieve this. I know, I’m nowhere in the run to it. I don’t expect my current job even leads to it. For now, I’m just concentrating on doing my job best and learning all in the process. I’m not sure how things will lead to it but I’m sure I’ll find a way if I keep at it. This one sounds more like ‘Main Madhuri Dixit banna chahti hoon’ and that one sounds somehow more relatable/achievable. But, for me – it always was, is – ‘Main Indra Nooyi banna chahti hoon’ πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

So, please feel free to laugh. Don’t stop yourself. But then, when did anyone have a restraint on what dreams/wishes you have. Dream on!

But yeah, there’s another part to it. ‘Respect your body’. In my 31 yrs of life so far, I’ve highly neglected my body. I’ve always listened to it groaning, screaming due to my ignorance and I’ve accordingly attended to it, but I’ve not respected it as I must. And, one thing I’ve realized now is that when you’ve a goal that big, you need your body to be healthy and happy ‘first’. So, the first step towards success in any journey is by bringing some discipline in your life and respecting your body. So, this one gets added to my 19 as a pre-cursor πŸ™‚

20. Be a good mother to Anay

With Tarun becoming an Entrepreneur, I get more time with Anay. And, as I get more time, I realize I talk more and do less. There are lot of things which are essential while growing a child up. While discipline, learning, homework, physical activity are all essentials, they happen by themselves somehow. Perhaps, because the school, the periodic events force you to give them time appropriately. But, for a holistic growth of child, and not to be swayed in the general way of life and modern culture, it’s important to give it some thought, once in a while. To see if you’re really giving the child what he needs in the long run of life.

One thing I miss as being a part of my growing years is the importance of emphasis on health and body and physical activity. Not that my parents didn’t coax me enough to wake up early and go for a walk, but I was too stubborn, perhaps. But, I think if parents follow it and children see it early in life, they get accustomed to it. There are some simple hygiene practices which need to be forced into the child’s routine before the child finds them part of life. For now, we’re mostly teaching him whatever are bare-essentials.

I need to be more conscious of these things, right now! Things I want Anay to learn already/for me to act upon immediately.

  1. Brush before you sleep, exercise in the morning, pooja once a day
  2. Find a solution to his food problems.

You know, it is too easy to be spending hours with your child and not spend a minute with him. I don’t think housewives are better mothers just because they are all time available to the child. I find myself an active parent when I have a charter with him. Or, if I’m simply playing with him where I just want him to be. So, two extremes, I guess. But, I want to try to be more ‘present’ when I’m present with him. These smartphones actually kill a lot of family time. I tried getting rid of my fetish with it but then I’ve my own demons to fight too.

Anyways, problem acknowledged is half battle won. So, on that positive note, I’ll sign off.

Smile more!

-Hope

11 thoughts on “Adding 19. and 20. to my list of 30

  1. Oh, you can’t stress on the health part of 19. and 20. enough! Those are two things which require a head start, else they tend to leave you regretting later… Learning from the experience of those around me. It’s great that you have this in mind though… Good luck! Hope you make the most of these coming years… The smartphone thing is a disaster. But then, why are humans like that? We are blessed to have been offered these inventions on a plate but somehow we always manage to make the worst use of them. More often than not! And, of course, you’re not alone. But again, that’s nothing that either one of us should take solace in. πŸ˜› *sigh* Life. πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ™‚ Thanks for taking time out for reading. I know what you mean, that we should not stress too much about things, but it’s kind of a gentle reminder to not let things flow past. It’s just too easy to let life happen and not care about things. These show their impact later in life and become regrets. So, just that. But, having said that, I don’t fret too much either. I talk much much more than I do in reality πŸ˜‰

      1. What I meant was that, one can never stress on those two things enough… That they need to be highlighted and stressed upon… Because they are too important to “let them just happen.” I was actually agreeing with you. πŸ™‚

      2. Hahaha! I was doubtful of that thing when I commented. I did feel that perhaps you’re saying that we can’t stress enough . N I totally agree with you there. πŸ™‚

      3. Right, haha. Happens. English is a funny language. πŸ˜›
        Hope you’re doing good! πŸ™‚

      4. Reminds me of a good morning reminder that my Dad sent me yesterday,
        “Life is like a coin. Pleasure and pain are the two sides. Only one side is visible at a time. But remember, the other side is also waiting for its turn.”
        That soothed me a bit. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

